My SCRAPBOOK (సేకరణలు): A COLLECTION of articles in English and Telugu(తెలుగు), from various sources, on varied subjects. I do not claim credit for any of the contents of these postings as my own.A student's declaration made at the end of his answer paper, holds good to the articles here too:"I hereby declare that the answers written above are true to the best of my friend's knowledge and I claim no responsibility whatsoever of the correctness of the answers."

Thursday, May 28, 2015

2022- The Writer's Journey: Mythic Structure For Writers (2007)

It is a popular screenwriting textbook by writer Christopher Vogler, focusing on the theory that most stories can be boiled down to a series of narrative structures and character archetypes, described through mythological allegory. Vogler based this work upon the writings of mythologist Joseph Campbell, particularly 'The Hero with a Thousand Faces', and holds that all successful films innately adhere to its principles. The book was very well received upon its release, and is often featured in recommended reading lists for student screenwriters.
Summary of Content:
The first part of the book describes eight major character archetypes in detail. Those are:
(1)Hero- someone who is willing to sacrifice his own needs on behalf of others
(2)Mentor- all the characters who teach and protect heroes and give them gifts
(3)Threshold Guardian- a menacing face to the hero, but if understood, they can be overcome
(4)Herald- a force that brings a new challenge to the hero
(5)Shapeshifter- characters who change constantly from the hero's point of view
(6)Shadow- character who represents the energy of the dark side
(7)Ally- someone who travels with the hero through the journey, serving variety of functions
(8)Trickster- embodies the energies of mischief and desire for change
Stages of the Journey:
The second part describes the twelve stages of the Hero's journey. The stages are:
(1)The Ordinary World- the hero is seen in his/her everyday life
(2)The Call to Adventure- the initiating incident of the story
(3)Refusal of the Call- the hero experiences some hesitation to answer the call
(4)Meeting with the Mentor- the hero gains the supplies, knowledge, and confidence needed to commence the adventure
(5)Crossing the First Threshold- the hero commits wholeheartedly to the adventure
(6)Tests, Allies and Enemies- the hero explores the special world, faces trial, and makes friends and enemies
(7)Approach to the Innermost Cave- the hero nears the center of the story and the special world
(8)The Ordeal- the hero faces the greatest challenge yet and experiences death and rebirth
(9)Reward- the hero experiences the consequences of surviving death
(10)The Road Back- the hero returns to the ordinary world or continues to an ultimate destination
(11)The Resurrection- the hero experiences a final moment of death and rebirth so they are pure when they reenter the ordinary world
(12)Return with the Elixir- the hero returns with something to improve the ordinary world

Labels: , ,


Post a Comment

<< Home